top of page


The Sidney J. Levy Award competition is held annually in honor of one of the founding fathers of Consumer Culture Theory. The award is given to the best CCT-oriented dissertation article published in the preceding year.

Award Description & Eligibility

Authors of a published dissertation-based article in the area of Consumer Culture Theory and related theoretical areas are encouraged to submit their articles for the annual Sidney J. Levy Award competition.

The award is given to the author of the best article based on a CCT-oriented dissertation thesis that is published in an English-language marketing and/or consumer journal. The winner receives $1500. One honorable mention award may also be given ($1000). The recipients will be presented at the annual CCT conference luncheon.

There may only be one Levy Award submission per dissertation and applicants can only apply for the Levy award once. All submissions must be based directly on dissertation data and theory. Applicants must clearly identify themselves as the first author and will be the sole recipient of the award. The first submission to the journal publishing the paper must be within seven years of receipt of degree.

Papers are eligible that appeared in print in the calendar year prior to the award application (e.g., articles in print in 2023 are eligible for the 2024 award).  The submission deadline is April 1st of the following year (e.g., deadline for articles in print in 2023 is April 2024). The nomination process is quick and easy. Both self-nominations and colleague nominations are encouraged.

The Levy Award judging is completed by May 1st. A panel comprised of three consumer culture theorists with outstanding credentials will judge submitted articles based on contribution to knowledge in- and outside of CCT, conciseness, and potential to shape the course of Consumer Culture Theory and marketing in the future.

The deadline is April 1. For questions and submissions contact Marcus Phipps, CCTC Executive Secretary at

Click here to download the nomination form: Levy-Award-application-form.

Click here, to read more about Sidney J. Levy: Sidney J. Levy on Marketing: An Intellectual Biography

Past Levy Award Winners


2023 - Winner


Christian A. Eichert, “Almost Equal: Consumption under Fragmented Stigma, Journal of  Consumer Research,” Volume 49, Issue 3, October 2022, Pages 409–429,


2023 – Honorable Mention


Akaka, Melissa Archpru, "Practice diffusion." Journal of Consumer Research 48, Issue 6 April 2022, 939-969, 



2022 – Winner

Daniel Dietrich, A Framework of Brand Contestation: Toward Brand Antifragility, Journal of Consumer Research, Volume 48, Issue 4, December 2021, Pages 682–708,

2022 – Honorable mention

Karin Brondino-Pompeo, "Mapping spheres of exchange: a multidimensional approach to commoditization and singularization," AMS Review, Springer; Academy of Marketing Science, vol. 11(1), pages 81-95

2021 – Winner

Siebert, Anton. “Customer Experience Journeys: Loyalty Loops Versus Involvement Spirals", Journal of Marketing, 84 (4), 45-66.

2021 – Honorable mention

Samuelson, Appau. "Understanding Difficult Consumer Transitions: Permanent Liminality in the In/Dividual Consumer", Journal of Consumer Research, 47 (August), 167-191.

2020 – Winner

Gollnhofer, Johanna F., Henri A. Weijo, and John W. Schouten. "Consumer movements and value regimes: Fighting food waste in Germany by building alternative object pathways." Journal of Consumer Research 46.3 (2019): 460-482.


2020 – Honorable mention

Kawaf, Fatema. "Capturing digital experience: The method of screencast videography." International Journal of Research in Marketing 36.2 (2019): 169-184.


2019 – Winner

Ela Veresiu, York University

Beyond Acculturation: Multiculturalism and the Institutional Shaping of an Ethnic Consumer Subject,” Journal of Consumer Research, (Volume 45), October 2018

2018 – Winner

Rebecca Scott, Cardiff University

Selling Pain to the Saturated Self,” Journal of Consumer Research, (Volume 44) June 2017

2017 – Winner

Andre F. Maciel, University of Nebraska, Lincoln

Taste Engineering: An Extended Consumer Model of Cultural Competence Constitution.” Journal of Consumer Research, (Volume 43) February 2017

2017 – Honorable Mention

Luciana Walther, Federal University of São João Del Rei, Brazil

Next stop, Pleasure Town: Identity transformation and women’s erotic consumption, Journal of Business Research (69), 1, January 2016

2016 – Winner

Marie-Agnes Parmentier,  HEC Montreal

Things Fall Apart: The Dynamics of Brand Audience Dissipation.” Journal of Consumer Research, (Volume 41) February 2015

2015 – Winners

Niklas Woermann, University of Southern Denmark, and Joonas Rokka, NEOMA Business School

How Consumption Practices Shape Consumers’ Temporal Experiences.” Journal of Consumer Research, (Volume 41) April 2015

2014 – Winner

Bige Saatçioğlu, Ozyegin University

Moral Habitus and Status Negotiation in A Marginalized Working-Class Neighborhood” Journal of Consumer Research, (Volume 40) December 2013.

2013 -Winner

Elif Izberk-Bilgin, University of Michigan-Dearborn

Infidel Brands: Unveiling Alternative Meanings of Global Brands at the Nexus of Globalization, Consumer Culture, and Islamism.” Journal of Consumer Research, (Volume 39) December 2012

2012 – Co-Winners

Zeynep Arsel, Concordia University

Demythologizing Consumption Practices: How Consumers Protect Their Field-Dependent Identity Investments from Devaluing Marketplace Myths.” Journal of Consumer Research, (Volume 37) February 2011

Michelle Weinberger, Northwestern University

Intracommunity Gifting at the Intersection of Contemporary Moral & Market Economies.” Journal of Consumer Research, (Volume 39) June 2012

2011 – Winner

Ashlee Humphreys, Northwestern University

Semiotic Structure and the Legitimation of Consumption Practices: The Case of Casino Gambling.” Journal of Consumer Research, (Volume 37) October 2010

2011 – Honorable Mention

Gulnur Tumbat, San Francisco State University

Marketplace Tensions in Extraordinary Experiences.” Journal of Consumer Research, (Volume 38) June 2011

2010 – Winner

Marius K. Luedicke, University of Innsbruck, Austria

Consumer Identity Work as Moral Protagonism: How Myth and Ideology Animate a Brand-Mediated Moral Conflict.” Journal of Consumer Research, (Volume 36) April 2010

2009 – Winner

Amber M. Epp, University of Wisconsin

Family Identity: A Framework of Identity Interplay in Consumption Practices.” Journal of Consumer Research, (Volume 35) June 2008

2009 – Honorable Mention

Xin Zhao, University of Hawaii

Politicizing Consumer Culture: Advertising’s Appropriation of Political Ideology in China’s Social Transition.” Journal of Consumer Research, (Volume 35) August 2008

thumbnail_Melissa_headshots2021-30 copy.jpg
bottom of page